essential info

See All

Essential information about Abu Dhabi

Looking for information about Abu Dhabi? You’ve come to the right place. Abu Dhabi is the largest of seven emirates and the capital of the United Arab Emirates. Made up of 200 islands, the emirate has a diversity of landscapes ranging from coastal islands filled with world-famous attractions and beaches to an uninterrupted desert scenery.

Home to a large concentration of attractions and cultural sites, Abu Dhabi is popular amongst tourists worldwide. Whether you’re here for a stopover or a longer break away, there is so much to see and do. Highlights include Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque, Yas Island, the oasis city of Al Ain and so much more.

For more information about travelling to Abu Dhabi, exploring the emirate and more about the culture of the UAE, Check out our handy guide below.

Travel

Travelling to Abu Dhabi

The majority of international air traffic flies into Abu Dhabi International Airport at Terminal 3, the home of Etihad Airways. You can also fly with Wizz Air, Air Arabia Abu Dhabi and more than 50 other airlines to the emirate from more than 100 destinations worldwide.

Abu Dhabi visas are available for free on arrival for many nationalities. Citizens of other countries can apply for a visa prior to their trip. For more information abudhabiairport.ae.


Travelling to Abu Dhabi
Transport

Getting around Abu Dhabi

You can explore the city and the wider emirate of Abu Dhabi via multiple transport options. Taxis are reasonably priced and the most popular way to get around the city but you can also get around by buses, ferries or take exploration into your own hands and rent a car.

The Visit Abu Dhabi Shuttle Bus is also a handy option to get around the city. It’s free and available for local and international tourists who book a hotel or purchase attraction tickets in Abu Dhabi.

Getting around Abu Dhabi
Culture

Culture in Abu Dhabi

Learning about local culture and traditions can help all travellers understand and make the most of their time in Abu Dhabi. There is a deep history and rich culture to uncover at famous landmarks and on fascinating tours.

Culture in Abu Dhabi
Religion

Religion in Abu Dhabi

Islam is the official religion of the UAE. All over Abu Dhabi you’ll see beautiful mosques where worshippers flock and the peaceful call to prayer bellows from the tall minarets. Ramadan is the holy month in which Muslims fast during daylight hours. To be respectful, there are certain public rules of etiquette to follow during this time.

Religion in Abu Dhabi

Abu Dhabi FAQs

Back

Time and weather

The UAE +4 hours in front of UTC (Coordinated Universal Time - formerly known as GMT).

12pm in Abu Dhabi is:

  • 3:00 AM in New York

  • 8:00 AM in London

  • 10:00 AM in Johannesburg

  • 1:30 PM in New Delhi

  • 6:00 PM in Sydney

Sunny blue skies and high temperatures can be expected most of the year. There isn’t much rainfall in the emirate either. Temperatures range from a low of around 13C (50F) on a winter's night, to a high of around 42C (118F) on a summer's day. The most pleasant time to visit is between November and April, when temperatures are around 24C (75F) during the day and 13C (56F) at night.

In the winter the sun rises between 6:30 AM and 7:00 AM and sets between 6:00 PM and 7:00 PM. The sun can rise as early as 5:30 AM in the summer and sets around 7:00 PM. Abu Dhabi has on average 10 to 12 hours of sunlight each day.