Abu Dhabi regions

See All

Explore Abu Dhabi's areas

Boasting some of the world's most beautiful landscapes, Abu Dhabi is made up of three main regions (areas) – the UAE capital city and its surrounds, Al Ain (Eastern Region) and Al Dhafra (Western Region). Thanks to its geographically diverse scenery and rich culture and history, the districts within these regions are a dream to explore. Enjoy exquisite desert sunsets in the Empty Quarter, kayak through mangrove forests, marvel at ancient UNESCO World Heritage sites, visit awe-inspiring architectural landmarks, museums and galleries, wander beneath palm trees in centuries-old oases, go wild at adventure and theme parks, relax at luxury resorts and shop in some of the world's best shopping malls.

Abu Dhabi city

From old to new

Abu Dhabi was once home to 300 Barasti (palm frond) huts, a few coral buildings and the Ruler's fort. Today, the bustling high-rise capital of the UAE is a melting pot of culture, history, heritage, nature, beaches, luxury, wildlife and shopping.

Al Ain

Lush landscapes and ancient history

The green garden city of Al Ain (a UNESCO World Heritage site) is home to historical buildings and the magnificent Al Ain Oasis, where 147,000 date palms and other fruit trees are tended to by still-operational centuries-old falaj (irrigation systems).

Al Dhafra

Beaches, scenery, forts

Making up over two-thirds of Abu Dhabi, Al Dhafra stretches along hundreds of kilometres of coastline and boasts exquisite beaches and islands, incredible wildlife, towering sand dunes, adventurous off-road driving, luxury resorts and ancient forts.

More to do in Abu Dhabi's regions


Insider tips on exploring Abu Dhabi