Explore our Marine Protected Areas
Preserved. Protected. Presented.

Explore our Marine Protected Areas

  • Explore our Marine Protected Areas
  • Off the beaten track
  • Discover a whole new world

Spectacular coral reefs, magnificent mangrove forests, beautiful wetlands, lush oases and an abundance of incredible wildlife. This is what you can expect when exploring the breathtaking islands that make up Abu Dhabi’s exquisite marine protected areas. Working alongside Abu Dhabi Maritime and Environment Agency - Abu Dhabi, these incredible marine protected areas have been opened up to tourists for the very first time...

A snorkeller's paradise

Ras Ghanadah

The largest coral reef in the UAE and Gulf region, and one of the most important coral reefs in Abu Dhabi, the 55-square-kilometre Ras Ghanadah protected area is situated near Ghantoot, about 90km from the capital. Snorkelling fanatics and divers will delight in the treasure trove of coral species found in the magical underwater world at Ras Ghanadah. In fact, 40% of all coral species in the Arabian Gulf can be found here. You’re also very likely to spot turtles, dugongs, sea snakes and clownfish.

Ras Ghanadah
An island haven

Saadiyat Marine National Park

Spanning a total area of 59 square kilometres, the protected Saadiyat Marine National Park can be found in the adjoining marine area of Abu Dhabi’s pristine Saadiyat Island. Marine life enthusiasts will love the abundance of beautiful animals, particularly the endangered Hawksbill turtles that nest on the island. Keep an eye out for dolphins, and make sure you don’t forget your phone because this spot showcases some of the UAE’s most beautiful sunsets. The Saadiyat Marine National Park is a haven for non-motorised watersports activities such as snorkelling, diving, kayaking and fishing.

Saadiyat Marine National Park
Water and wildlife

Marawah Marine Biosphere Reserve

Named the first marine biosphere reserve in the UAE and covering 63% of Abu Dhabi’s marine protected areas, the incredible Marawah Marine boasts 120km of immaculate coastline and over ten islands. The 4,255-square-kilometre reserve is home to essential marine ecosystems, including seagrass beds, coral reefs, macroalgae outcrops and mangrove forests. Marawah is also teeming with abundant wildlife, including the world’s second-largest dugong community, 70% of the UAE’s migratory birds, and over 150 species of fish.

Marawah Marine Biosphere Reserve
Go west

Al Yasat Protected Area

The breathtaking Al Yasat marine protected area is located in the western region of Abu Dhabi in Al Dhafra and is a nature lover’s paradise. From recreational fishing to diving, kayak adventures to snorkelling and dolphin to turtle watching, the list of exciting outdoor activities is endless. Al Yasat is also a heritage and cultural attraction. It is made up of a group of islands of historical importance – including Al Ghagha Island, Al Qaffay Island and Al Yasat Island – and boasts several species of thriving coral reefs that play a vital role in the abundance of bountiful marine life.

Al Yasat Protected Area

Attractions and activities

The four exquisite islands that make up the marine protected areas in Abu Dhabi offer outdoor lovers an abundance of exciting activities such as day cruises, diving, snorkelling, kayak adventures and fishing, as well as dolphin watching and swimming, sea turtle and dugong watching. The set-up of mooring buoys – as opposed to anchorage – ensures the protection and conservation of these magical, never-before-explored marine islands.

Wonders of Abu Dhabi's waters

What can you do there?

Inspiration

Something you might like to read

• اكتشف عالمًا جديدًا تمامًا
  • بعيدًا عن الطريق المألوف
  • اكتشف محمياتنا البحرية

الشعاب المرجانية الرائعة، وغابات القرم المميزة، والأراضي الرطبة الجميلة، والواحات الخصبة ووفرة الحياة البرية المذهلة... كل هذا سيكون في انتظارك عند استكشاف الجزر الخلابة التي تشكل المحميات البحرية الرائعة في أبوظبي. من خلال العمل جنبًا إلى جنب مع هيئة أبوظبي للملاحة والبيئة- أبوظبي، تم فتح هذه المناطق البحرية المحمية الرائعة أمام السياح لأول مرة ...

 

جنة الغطس

رأس غناضة

كأكبر شعاب مرجانية في الإمارات ومنطقة الخليج، وواحدة من أهم الشعاب المرجانية في أبوظبي، تقع محمية رأس غناضة التي تبلغ مساحتها 55 كيلومترًا مربعًا بالقرب من منطقة غنتوت، على بعد حوالي 90 كيلومترًا من العاصمة. سوف يسعد محبو الغوص السطحي والغواصون بالكنز الدفين من الأنواع المرجانية الموجودة في العالم السحري تحت الماء في رأس غناضة. في الواقع، يمكن العثور هنا على 40% من جميع أنواع الشعاب المرجانية في الخليج العربي. من المحتمل جدًا أيضًا أن تكتشف السلاحف وأبقار البحر وثعابين البحر وسمك المهرج في المنطقة.

رأس غناضة
جزيرة الهدوء

متـنـزه السعديات البحري الوطني

يمتد متـنـزه السعديات البحري الوطني على مساحة 59 كيلومترًا مربعًا، في المنطقة البحرية المجاورة لجزيرة السعديات المميزة في أبوظبي. سيحب عشاق الحياة البحرية وفرة الحيوانات الجميلة، ولا سيما سلاحف منقار الصقر المهددة بالانقراض التي تتخذ الجزيرة موطنًا لها. راقب الدلافين، وتأكد من وجود أغراضك كاملة لأن هذا المكان سينسيك كل ما لديك مع أجمل مشهد لغروب الشمس في دولة الإمارات. يعد متـنـزه السعديات البحري الوطني ملاذاً لأنشطة الرياضات المائية غير الآلية مثل الغطس والغوص والتجديف بالكاياك وصيد الأسماك.

متـنـزه السعديات البحري الوطني
المياه والحياة البرية

محمية مروّح البحرية

تم تسمية هذا الموقع كأول محمية للمحيط الحيوي البحري في دولة وتغطي 63% من إجمالي مساحة المحميات البحرية في أبوظبي، وتتميز محمية مروّح البحرية المذهلة بامتلاكها 120 كيلومترًا من السواحل النقية وأكثر من عشر جزر. تعد المحمية التي تبلغ مساحتها 4255 كيلومترًا مربعًا موطنًا للنظم البيئية البحرية الأساسية، بما في ذلك طبقات الأعشاب البحرية والشعاب المرجانية وظهور الطحالب الكبيرة وغابات القرم. تعج محمية مروح أيضًا بالحياة البرية الوفيرة، بما في ذلك ثاني أكبر مجتمع للأطوم في العالم، و 70% من الطيور المهاجرة في دولة الإمارات، وأكثر من 150 نوعًا من الأسماك.

محمية مروّح البحرية
اتجه غربًا

محمية الياسات البحرية

تقع محمية الياسات البحرية الخلابة في المنطقة الغربية من أبوظبي في الظفرة وهي جنة لعشاق الطبيعة. من الصيد الترفيهي إلى الغوص ومغامرات قوارب الكاياك إلى الغطس ومراقبة الدلافين إلى مشاهدة السلاحف حولك، فإن قائمة الأنشطة الخارجية المثيرة لا حصر لها. الياسات هي أيضًا معلم تراثي وثقافي. وتتكون من مجموعة من الجزر ذات أهمية تاريخية- بما في ذلك جزيرة الغغة وجزيرة القفاعي وجزيرة الياسات- وتضم عدة أنواع من الشعاب المرجانية المذهلة التي تلعب دورًا حيويًا في حماية الحياة البحرية.

محمية الياسات البحرية

معالم وأنشطة

توفر الجزر الأربع الرائعة التي تشكل المناطق البحرية المحمية في أبوظبي لعشاق الأنشطة في الهواء الطلق وفرةً من الأنشطة المثيرة مثل الرحلات النهارية والغوص والغطس ومغامرات الكاياك وصيد الأسماك، بالإضافة إلى مشاهدة الدلافين والسباحة والسلاحف البحرية ومشاهدة أبقار البحر. يضمن إنشاء عوامات الإرساء - على عكس المرساة التقليدية - حماية هذه الجزر البحرية الساحرة التي لم يسبق استكشافها من قبل والحفاظ عليها أيضًا.

عجائب مياه أبوظبي

ماذا يمكنك القيام به؟