climate and what to wear

See All

Abu Dhabi is a destination with almost year-round sunshine, little rainfall and near perfect winter temperatures.

Abu Dhabi has a sub-tropical, arid climate. Sunny blue skies and warm temperatures can be expected most of the year. Rainfall is sporadic, falling mainly in winter (November to March) and averaging 12cm per year in most of the emirate. Rain is more common in the lush oasis city of Al Ain, the emirate's second-largest city, due to its proximity to the Hajar mountains.

Temperatures range from a low of around 13°C (50F) on a winter's night to a high of around 42°C (118F) on a summer's day. The cooler months, November to April, are the most pleasant time to visit, when temperatures are around 24°C (75F) during the day and 13°C (56F) at night.

Essential info

Lightweight summer clothing is suitable for most of the year, but something slightly warmer may be needed for the winter months. Be sure to take some sort of jacket or sweater when visiting hotels or the cinema, as the air conditioning can be cold.

Although the attitude towards clothing style is fairly liberal throughout the UAE, a healthy amount of respect for local customs doesn't go amiss, especially when shopping or sightseeing. Short or tight clothing may be worn, but it will attract attention - most of it unwelcome. However, regular swimwear, including shorts for men, full-piece swimsuits or bikinis for women, can be worn on Abu Dhabi’s private and public beaches.

Malls, health clubs and resort facilities are generally more accepting of what's fashionable, but as a sign of respect when visiting government offices, it is best to cover your shoulders and legs. It is especially recommended that you dress more conservatively during Ramadan.

In the evenings, depending on their dress code, the city’s cosmopolitan restaurants and clubs see people from around the world in various styles of dress, from laid-back casual to cocktail-party inspired, black-tie to glamorous. Ladies are advised to take a pashmina or jacket because of cold air

كرم الضيافة العربية

إظهار الكل

تعدّ أبوظبي وجهة تبقى فيها الشمس مشرقة معظم أشهر السنة، إذ قلّما تتساقط الأمطار وغالباً ما يكون المناخ رائعاً في فصل الشتاء.

تتمتّع أبوظبي بمناخٍ شبه استوائي وجاف. ويمكن توقّع سماء صافية وشمس ساطعة ودرجات حرارة مرتفعة في معظم أشهر السنة. يُعدّ هطول الأمطار متفرقاً في فصل الشتاء (من نوفمبر إلى مارس) بمعدل 12 سم سنوياً في المتوسّط في معظم أنحاء الإمارة. ويُعتبر هطول الأمطار أكثر شيوعاً في مدينة العين التي يُطلق عليها لقب "مدينة الواحات" وتُعدّ ثاني أكبر مدينة في الإمارة، وذلك بسبب قربها من جبال الحجر.

تتراوح درجات الحرارة بين 13 درجة مئويّة (50 درجة فهرنهايت) في الشتاء و42 درجة مئويّة (118 درجة فهرنهايت) في الصيف. وتعدّ الأشهر الأكثر برودة أي من نوفمبر حتى أبريل من أروع الأشهر لزيارة الإمارة، إذ تكون درجات الحرارة في تلك الفترة حوالى 24 درجة مئويّة (75 درجة فهرنهايت) في النهار و13 درجة مئويّة (56 درجة فهرنهايت) في الليل.

معلومات أساسية

تُعتبر الملابس الصيفية الخفيفة مناسبة لمعظم أيّام السنة، إلا أنّك قد تحتاج إلى ملابس ربيعية في أشهر الشتاء. وعندما تزور الفنادق أو دور السينما، من المستحسن أن تأخذ معك سترة أو كنزة صوفية لأنّ مكيّف الهواء فيها يمكن أن يكون بارداً جداً.

يجب احترام قواعد اللباس والعادات المحلية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة لاسيما أثناء التسوق أو الجولات السياحية. يمكن ارتداء الملابس العصرية كالشورتات والملابس الضيّقة إلا أنّها تلفت الأنظار وغير مرغوب فيها، ولكن يمكن ارتداء ملابس السباحة على أنواعها على الشواطئ الخاصة والعامة في أبوظبي.

تعدّ مراكز التسوّق والنوادي الصحيّة ومرافق المنتجعات أكثر تقبّلاً بشكلٍ عام للملابس العصرية، ولكن عند زيارة دوائر حكومية، من المستحسن تغطية الكتفين والساقين. كما يوصى بشكل خاص بارتداء ملابس أكثر احتشاماً في شهر رمضان المبارك.

في المساء، تمتزج الأنماط والاطلالات الغربية والعربية والآسيوية عادة في المطاعم والنوادي. ننصح السيدات مجدّداً بالتزوّد بشالٍ أو بسترة بسبب برودة التكييف.