See All

Describing the world's largest uninterrupted sand mass, explorer Sir Wilfred Thesiger wrote, “It was very still, with the silence which we have driven from our world”. 

Today, the magical Rub’ al Khali (Empty Quarter) offers the same serene silence that it did when Thesiger explored it with his Emirati and Omani companions in the 1940s, its fine golden and red sands shifting with the winds to form dunes hundreds of feet high and visible as far as the eye can see.

Beautiful by day or starry night, this ever-changing expanse of desert boasts one of the world’s most luxurious hotels: the magnificent Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara. A fairytale destination reminiscent of the tale One Thousand and One Nights, this luxury five-star oasis resembles an old Arabian fortress town, nestled in a valley of towering dunes. Aside from warm Arabian hospitality, exquisite interiors and sumptuous dining, the hotel also offers solo travellers, couples or families a dose of adventure, from dawn desert walks to camel trekking, dune bashing to falconry and Saluki (desert hunting dog) shows, camp-fire barbecues to fat-tyre biking, and much more.

Perched on the edge of this majestic desert you’ll also find the stunning Tilal Liwa Hotel, a secluded luxury hideaway with all the comforts of modern life, of course. Discover impressive restaurants, an enormous outdoor pool with breathtaking views of the dunes, and a range of desert activities for all ages. 

If you’re in the Empty Quarter, try to get up close and personal with the world’s tallest sand dune, Tel Moreeb, which means Terrifying Mountain. Over 300 metres high and boasting a 50° incline, this photogenic dune is a dream for 4x4 enthusiasts, with experienced bikers and drivers competing to climb to the top during the Moreeb Hill Climb event, part of the Liwa International Festival that takes place in the winter. If you prefer to err on the side of caution, simply watch dune-side and get some covetable photographs.

Perfect for the traveller who wants an authentic and immersive adventure experience, Abu Dhabi’s Empty Quarter is a must-see bucket-list destination. 

Social share

إظهار الكل

كتب المستكشف السير ويلفريد ثيسيجر في إطار وصفه لأكبر منبسط صحراوي رملي متواصل في العالم: "ساد صمت مطبق لا يشبه عالمنا الصاخب بشيء". 

واليوم، يسود في الربع الخالي الصمت نفسه الذي تكلّم عنه ثيسيجر حينما كان يستكشف الصحراء مع رفيقَي دربه من الجنسيَتَيْن الإماراتية والعمانية في الأربعينيات. تتنقّل الرمال الذهبية الناعمة في هذه الصحراء إلى حيث تأخذها الرياح، لتشكّل كثباناً شاهقةً يصل ارتفاعها إلى مئات الأقدام.

تحتضن هذه الصحراء الفسيحة الرائعة "قصر السراب منتجع الصحراء بإدارة أنانتارا". يوحي هذا المنتجع المصنّف من فئة الخمس نجوم لتعيش فيه أجواء حكايات ألف ليلة وليلة، ويشبه قلعة عربية قديمة تفترش أحضان وادٍ ساحر من الكثبان الضخمة. يتميّز المنتجع بحفاوة الضيافة العربية، وتصميم داخلي مذهل وعدد من المطاعم والاستراحات الفاخرة، كما يقدّم للأفراد والأزواج والعائلات وفرةً من الأنشطة الصحراوية مثل رحلات المشي على الكثبان الرملية فجراً، ورحلات ركوب الإبل، وجولات القيادة على الكثبان، وعروض الصيد بالصقور وكلاب السلوقي فضلاً عن حفلات الشواء على نار المخيم، وركوب الدراجات الجبلية وغير ذلك الكثير.

من جهة أخرى، يتربع فندق تلال ليوا على أطراف صحراء الربع الخالي المهيبة، وهو ملاذ صحراوي فاخر يضمّ مرافق حديثة تواكب العصر. استمتع بالمطاعم الرائعة المتوفرة في الفندق وبمسبح كبير في الهواء الطلق مع إطلالات على الكثبان المذهلة فضلاً عن مجموعة متكاملة من الأنشطة الصحراوية لجميع الأعمار. 

يُعتبر تل مرعب الرّملي أعلى الكثبان الرملية في العالم حيث يزيد ارتفاعه على 300 متر بزاوية ميلان 50 درجة نحو الأعلى، ما يجعله المقصد الأول لمحبي رياضة ركوب السيارات. وفي الشتاء، تجتمع أقوى أنواع السيارات الرباعية الدفع والدراجات الرباعية لتتنافس في فعالية تسلّق تل مرعب وهي جزء من مهرجان ليوا الدولي. وإذا لم تكن من هواة التسابق، فيمكنك مشاهدة الحدث والتقاط صور رائعة.

إذا كنت تعشق خوض مغامرات فريدة من نوعها، فلا بد لك من زيارة الربع الخالي في أبوظبي. 

ولقد بات بإمكانك مشاهدة صحراء ليوا عبر خاصيّة جوجل ستريت فيو. إذا أردت خوض تجربة مذهلة بالأبعاد الثلاثية فاضغط على الرابط أدناه.

المشاركة على وسائل التواصل