dining

See All

Dining

The full scale of Arabian hospitality is best experienced over a meal at an Emirati’s home, where visitors invited to such an occasion can expect to be overwhelmed by generosity. It is customary to remove shoes on entering a house, although you should follow your host's lead in this regard. Arabic coffee will usually be served on arrival. 

The western practice of bringing a gift is not expected. In the Arab world, you are honouring the host with your presence. At the meal itself, besides urging you to help yourself to different dishes, the host will likely heap your plate with portions of various foods. It is polite to try a bit of everything, but not necessary to eat it all – a clean plate indicates to your host that you may still be hungry, so leave something uneaten.

There's no great formality at mealtimes and you should not be overly concerned about western-style table manners. Your host will be happier to see you digging in with gusto rather than holding back. After the meal, Arabic coffee and fruit may be served before departure. Guests do not generally linger.

One tradition that remains largely unchanged is the separation of men and women, with mixed dining still being quite rare in private homes. An Emirati hosting a group that includes women will decide whether he or she will host at their house, but they might be more likely to host in a restaurant. 

Business culture

تناول الطعام

إظهار الكل

تناول الطعام

تتجلى حفاوة الضيافة العربية والكرم أثناء دعوة الضيوف إلى وجبة طعام في منزلٍ أماراتي وعادةً ما يتم خلع الأحذية عند دخول المنزل، إلا أن القرار يعود للمضيف في هذا الصدد. كما تُقدم القهوة العربية عادة لدى وصول الضيوف.

وبعكس العادات الغربية، لا يتوقّع المضيف أن يحضر الضيف هدية. ففي العالم العربي، يُعدّ وجود الضيف في حد ذاته شرفاً لمضيفه. وأثناء تناول الطعام، يضع المضيف في طبق الضيف تشكيلة من المأكولات بكميات كبيرة ويحثّه على تذوّق جميع الأصناف، إلا أنه ليس من الضروري تناول كافة الكميات، إذ قد يظنّ المضيف أنك تريد المزيد، لذا يفضّل أن تترك بعضاً من الطعام في طبقك.

كما لا يتّبع الإماراتيون شكليات رسمية عند تناول الطعام ولا يعيرون آداب المائدة أهمية كبيرة على عكس الغربيين. لذلك، سيُسعد مضيفك أكثر إذا بادرت بتذوق المأكولات بدلاً من التردّد. وبعد الانتهاء من تناول وجبة الطعام، تُقدّم القهوة العربية والفواكه قبل المغادرة، ولا يبقى الضيوف عادة لوقت طويل بعد وجبة الطعام.

أما أحد التقاليد التي لا تزال تُعتمد حتى يومنا هذا فهي فصل الرجال والنساء، حيث لا يزال تناول الطعام مع بعضهما نادراً جداً في المنازل الخاصة. ويعود القرار إلى المضيف الإماراتي في استضافة النساء ضمن مجموعة في منزله، ولكن من المرجّح أن يستضيفهنّ في مطعم ما.

ثقافة الأعمال والتجارة