See All

Spanning 46,000 square metres and located directly opposite Abu Dhabi's world-famous Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque, Wahat Al Karama is a timeless tribute that honours the Emirati martyrs who sacrificed their lives in service of their country. Wahat Al Karama is home to a permanent memorial commemorating the United Arab Emirates' heroes, including soldiers, police, diplomats and civilians, since 1971.

Families
Child friendly
Abu Dhabi City

Following an intensive construction programme, Wahat Al Karama was officially inaugurated on Commemoration Day in 2016. The Memorial, designed by British artist Idris Khan, is the centerpiece. An imposing public art structure made up of 31 massive leaning tablets clad in aluminium, the symbolism behind the Memorial is clear: each tablet leans against the other, portraying the unity, solidarity and mutual support that bind the leadership of the UAE with its citizens, residents and the servicemen and women who protect them.

If you look closely, you'll notice poems and quotations engraved into the tablets' surfaces in simple script, with the long spine at the base of the Memorial bearing the Armed Forces' pledge of allegiance. Visitors can witness a daily Honour Guard march at the Memorial before sunset.

The Memorial Plaza is an open space surrounded by amphitheatre-style seating paved using travertine stone. The area can seat up to 1,200 people, with the plaza itself containing a spectacular shallow pool that offers visitors a breathtaking reflection of both the Memorial and the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque.

Beyond the Memorial Plaza and the Memorial is the Pavilion of Honour. The Pavilion offers a quiet and contemplative space in which visitors can reflect. Its circular internal walls bear the names of the UAE's heroes, each engraved on individual panels cast from metal reclaimed from the UAE's Armed Forces' vehicles. The names surround a central sculpture that consists of seven glass panels, each representing one of the UAE's seven emirates. The glass panels feature the UAE's Pledge of Allegiance, printed multiple times on both sides.

The visitor centre offers an interactive experience and gives guests an opportunity to learn more about the inspirational foundations and noble values that the UAE's heroic martyrs embodied. It comprises four different galleries, each home to a unique activity, and an electronic guestbook that records all official visits from international dignitaries. The souvenir shop offers visitors a way to remember this touching experience.

Wahat Al Karama is open to the public daily from 9am to 10pm and is free of charge. Guided tours are available in English and Arabic, with the last tour being at 6pm daily. Regular shuttle buses to and from the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque, as well as a connection via a pedestrian bridge, offer visitors easy access to this ceremonious site.

Social share

إظهار الكل

تقع واحة الكرامة مقابل مسجد الشيخ زايد الكبير والمشهور عالمياً في أبوظبي، حيث تبلغ مساحتها 46 ألف متر مربع. يخلّد هذا المعلم العظيم أسماء شهداء دولة الإمارات الذين قدموا أرواحهم في خدمة البلاد من جنود، ورجال شرطة، ودبلوماسيين ومدنيّين أبطال منذ عام 1971.

استغرق تشييد واحة الكرامة ستة أشهر فقط وافتُتحت رسمياً في يوم الشهيد عام 2016، ليُعتبر نصب الشهيد المعلم الأبرز في هذا المقصد، وهو من تصميم الفنان البريطاني المبدع إدريس خان. يتكون نصب الشهيد من 31 لوحاً ضخماً من الألمينيوم يستند كل منها على الآخر، ما يرمز إلى الوحدة والتضامن والتلاحم ويعكس العلاقة القوية بين القيادة والشعب من مدنيين وجنود. كما نُقشت على الألواح أقوال وأشعار أصحاب السمو بخط بسيط في حين تستند جميع الألواح على قاعدة مكتوب عليها قَسَم الولاء للقوات المسلحة بشكل طولي بارز. يمكن للزوّار مشاهدة مسيرة حرّاس الشرف كل يوم قرب النصب قبل غروب الشمس.

أما ميدان الفخر فعبارة عن مدرج مفتوح دائري من الحجر الجيري يتسع لـ 1200 شخص ويحتوي على حوض من المياه الضحلة التي تعكس صورة مسجد الشيخ زايد ونصب الشهيد.

يقع جناح الشرف بعد ميدان الفخر ونصب الشهيد، ويوفّر مساحةً هادئة للتأمل والتفكير. تحمل جدرانه الداخلية الدائرية أسماء الأبطال الإماراتيين على ألواح مصنوعة من المعدن المعاد تدويره من مركبات وآليات تعود للقوات المسلحة الإماراتية. كما تُحيط الأسماء بمنحوتة مركزية مؤلفة من سبعة ألواح زجاجية ترمز إلى الإمارات السبع. تحمل الألواح أيضاً قَسَم الولاء للإمارات العربية المتحدة مطبوعاً عدة مرات على الجانبين.

من جهة أخرى، يوفّر مركز الزوّار تجربة تفاعلية تتيح للزوّار التعرّف إلى الأسس النبيلة والقيم السامية التي ضحّى على أساسها شهداء الدولة الأبطال بأرواحهم. يتألف المركز من أربعة معارض مختلفة يضم كل منها نشاطاً مختلفاً مع سجل زوّار إلكتروني يسجّل كل الزيارات الرسمية لكبار الشخصيات الدوليين. يحتوي متجر الهدايا على تذكارات يصطحبها الزوّار معهم إلى المنزل لتذكُّر هذه التجربة المؤثرة.

تفتح واحة الكرامة أبوابها للزوّار مجاناً من الساعة 9:00 صباحاً حتى 10:00 مساءً من كل يوم. كما تتوفّر جولات برفقة مرشد باللغتين الإنجليزية والعربية، حيث تُقام الجولة الأخيرة من كل يوم عند الساعة 6:00 مساءً. كما تتوفّر باصات نقل من مسجد الشيخ زايد وإليه فضلاً عن جسر للمشاة.

العائلات
ملائم للأطفال
مدينة أبوظبي

المشاركة على وسائل التواصل