See All

For more than 100 years, this incredible historic fort in the lush garden city of Al Ain, about an hour and a half away from Abu Dhabi, has played a major role in the history of the United Arab Emirates. Today, it offers visitors an opportunity to understand the country's story. Situated at the western approach to Al Ain city, Qasr Al Muwaiji's picturesque structure is a fine example of early 20th-century mud-brick architecture and a great place to take stunning photographs. The building is a simple but striking form: a square enclosure with projecting corner towers and a grand entrance gate.

Families
Al Ain

Qasr Al Muwaiji was home to generations of the ruling Al Nahyanfamilyand saw the birth of Sheikh Khalifa, Founder of the UAE, in 1948. Built in the time of Sheikh Zayed bin Khalifa the First (r. 1855-1909) by his son, Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed bin Khalifa, it later became the home and administrative base for the late Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan when he became the Ruler's Representative in the Al Ain Region in 1946. His eldest son, His Highness Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan, was born at Qasr Al Muwaiji two years later, and spent much of his youth there, learning from his father.

This UNESCO World Heritage Site functioned not only as a home and oasis in the desert but also as diwan (a council or seat of governance) and a place for the community to gather.

Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan made many additions to the fort, reflecting its growing importance as the place of government in the region and an important location for discussions, reception of visitors and decision making. He added new diwan buildings and kitchens and expanded guest accommodations to address the increasing number of visitors. The fort's mosque was also made larger, with Qasr Al Muwaiji's significance as a focus for the community increasing as people came there to gather, pray and celebrate. When Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan became Ruler of Abu Dhabi in 1966, both he and his son, His Highness Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan, moved to Abu Dhabi. Beginning in the 1970s, the compound underwent several phases of restoration, culminating in a major regeneration project that cemented Qasr Al Muwaiji as an important public space in Al Ain. This architectural gem now offers visitors a variety of historical and traditional experiences associated with the venue, including oral narrations of significant moments from Sheikh Khalifa's life, from childhood stories to his vast national achievements as leader of the country.

Today, a modern exhibition hall, housed in a beautiful glass-walled space within the courtyard of Qasr Al Muwaiji, tells the story of the fort and its inhabitants, with a focus on His Highness Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan, President of the United Arab Emirates. The exhibition sets out the chronology of the members of Abu Dhabi's ruling family, with a connection to Qasr Al Muwaiji. Above all, it highlights the accomplishments of His Highness Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan, tracing the history of Qasr Al Muwaiji from early archaeological discoveries through to modern-day features, and communicating its role in hosting visiting travellers over the ages.

The museum also features interactive activities and performances that celebrate the overall spirit of this significant cultural site.

Displays here also explain the importance of water to Al Ain and its oases, including the nearby Al Muwaiji Oasis, the smallest oasis in Al Ain. Containing approximately 21,000 palm trees, as well as a traditional falaj (ancient irrigation system) that uses ground-level and underground canals to bring water from the nearby mountains, this oasis is a wonderful place to explore with children.

Social share

إظهار الكل

تؤدي هذه القلعة التاريخية المهيبة الواقعة في مدينة العين الخلابة دوراً بارزاً في تاريخ دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة منذ أكثر من 100 عام وتبعد حوالى ساعة ونصف عن أبوظبي واليوم يفتح أبوابه للزوار للتعرف على أحد الشواهد على تاريخ البلاد العريق. يقع قصر المويجعي الرائع في الجهة الغربية من مدينة العين ويمثل بناؤه نموذجاً راقياً لفن العمارة التي كانت تعتمد على الطوب في أوائل القرن العشرين ومكاناً مثالياً لالتقاط الصور. كان مبنى القلعة بارزاً ورائعاً رغم بساطته، إذ كان يتميز بهيكله المربع وأبراج الزوايا البارزة وبوابة المدخل الكبيرة.

احتضن قصر المويجعي أجيالاً من أفراد عائلة آل نهيان الحاكمة وشهد ولادة صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان، رئيس دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة عام 1948. تمّ تشييده في عهد المغفور له صاحب السمو الشيخ زايد بن خليفة الأول وبات لاحقاً المنزل والقاعدة الإدارية للمغفور له صاحب السمو الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان حين أصبح ممثل الحاكم في منطقة العين عام 1946. وُلد نجله الأكبر، صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان في قصر المويجعي بعد سنتين وأمضى معظم شبابه هناك وحذا حذو والده. يندرج القصر على قائمة مواقع التراث العالمي لليونيسكو كما يشكّل أكثر من مجرّد منزل وواحة في الصحراء، بل كان يُستخدم كديوان (مجلس أو مقر الحكومة) ومقصد لاجتماع الناس. 

أدخل المغفور له الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان الكثير من الإضافات إلى القلعة، الأمر الذي يعكس أهميتها المتزايدة كمقر رئيسي للحكم في المنطقة ومجلس للمناقشات ومكان لاستقبال الزوّار ومركز للشورى واتخاذ القرار. فأمر بإنشاء مبانٍ جديدة للديوان ومطابخ جديدة وبتوسيع غرف الضيوف حتى تستوعب الأعداد المتزايدة من الزوّار. كما أمر بتوسيع المسجد، ثم زادت أهمية قصر المويجعي باعتباره مقصداً مجتمعياً يلتقي فيه الناس للصلاة والاحتفال. بعد تولّي المغفور له الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان حكم أبوظبي عام 1966، انتقل مع ابنه صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان إلى أبوظبي. شهد هذا الصرح في أوائل السبعينيات مراحل ترميم مختلفة تُوجت بمشروع تجديد ضخم ساهم في عودة قصر المويجعي كمقصدٍ بارز في العين يستقطب الزوار. توفر حالياً هذه العمارة المذهلة للزوار تجارب تاريخية وتقليدية وتشمل على سبيل المثال لا الحصر سرداً شفهياً للمحطات المهمة في حياة صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة، بدءاً من قصص طفولته وصولاً إلى إنجازاته الوطنية كقائدٍ للبلاد. 

حالياً، يسرد المعرض الكائن في مساحة مُحاطة بالجدران الزجاجية الرائعة في فناء قصر المويجعي، قصة القلعة وسكانها ويحتفي بصاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان حاكم دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. كما يُقدم تسلسلاً زمنياً لحياة أفراد العائلة الحاكمة في أبوظبي وعلاقتهم بقصر المويجعي، ولكنه يركز في المقام الأول على إنجازات صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان. كما يحكي المعرض تاريخ قصر المويجعي بدءاً من الاكتشافات المبكرة للأدلة الأثرية وحتى يومنا هذا، ويُشير إلى دوره في استضافة الرحّالة الزوّار. كما تُعرض أنشطة وعروض تفاعلية تحتفي بروح هذا الموقع الثقافي العريق. 

ويسلط المعرض أيضاً الضوء على أهمية المياه في العين وواحاتها بما فيها واحة المويجعي التي تُعتبر الأصغر في مدينة العين وتحتوي على حوالي 21 ألف شجرة نخيل وتشتهر بنظام الري بالأفلاج (نظام قديم للريّ) الذي يعتمد على قنوات المياه على مستوى سطح الأرض وتحتها لنقل المياه من الجبال المجاورة. تُعدّ هذه الواحة وجهة رائعة لا بدّ من اكتشافها برفقة الأطفال. 

العائلات
العين

المشاركة على وسائل التواصل