top gear

See All

If you love cars, you’ll probably know that Top Gear is a popular BBC programme from the UK. Travelling the world in vehicles of all shapes and sizes, the show is focused on everything motoring. It’s been running since 1978 and is one of the world’s most-watched factual TV shows.

The vast expanses and mountainous rolling dunes of Abu Dhabi’s Rub’ al Khali desert, also known as the Empty Quarter, offer some of the most spectacular views and challenging terrains in the world. So when the team, led by Richard Hammond, arrived in Abu Dhabi, they needed something suitably monstrous to tackle the unforgiving landscape. Cue the awesome Mercedes-Benz G63 AMG 6x6.

Proving more than a match for the sea of ever-changing dunes - originally made famous in the 1940s by the British explorer Sir Wilfred Thesiger, who crossed the Empty Quarter twice with his Emirati and Omani companions - Hammond and his monster Merc proceeded on a whirlwind tour of the emirate, taking in some amazing, and often unusual, sights along the way.

Films

“@1.5xCars are very popular here and, luckily, the infrastructure is available in the UAE. Look at Yas Marina Circuit; it was one of the main attractions when it came to production and, if you want to do some tests with dune bashing, there is nowhere better than Al Dhafra.

- Noura Al Kaabi,

then CEO at twofour54 and current Minister of Culture and Knowledge Development

The Yadi Yas, a meandering rubber-ring-filled lazy river at Yas Waterworld Abu Dhabi, the emirate’s largest waterpark, is not the sort of place you’d expect to see a segment of the world’s most-famous motoring show being shot, but that’s exactly where Hammond turned up. Showcasing the six-wheel Mercedes’ aquatic capabilities, the Top Gear presenter took a leisurely drive through the one-metre-deep water-filled attraction before emerging unscathed, with astounded onlookers left in his wake.

To top off his Abu Dhabi adventure, Hammond was also handed the keys to Porsche’s 918 Spyder hybrid supercar and given full access to Yas Marina Circuit, home of the annual Formula 1™ Etihad Airways Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

Other highlights of the Top Gear tour included the weird, wonderful and often oversized assortment of automotive exhibits at the unique Emirates National Auto Museum, which houses the personal car collection of His Highness Sheikh Hamad Bin Hamdan Al Nahyan; the 4.2km Sheikh Zayed Tunnel; the sea-facing Abu Dhabi Corniche; and the iconic Emirates Palace hotel.

كرم الضيافة العربية

إظهار الكل

إذا كنت من عشاق السيارات، لا بدّ أنّك شاهدت برنامج "توب غير" الشهير الذي يُعرض على شاشة بي بي سي في المملكة المتحدة. يجوب البرنامج بلدان العالم في سيارات من جميع الأشكال والأحجام ويسلّط الضوء على كلّ ما يتعلق بالسيارات. بدأ عرضه في عام 1978 وما زال مستمراً حتى يومنا هذا ويعدّ من البرامج التلفزيونية الواقعية الأكثر مشاهدة في العالم.

توفر المساحات الشاسعة والكثبان الرملية الجبلية في صحراء الربع الخالي في أبوظبي بعضاً من أروع المناظر وتضمّ أصعب التضاريس في العالم. لذا عندما وصل فريق العمل بقيادة ريتشارد هاموند إلى أبوظبي، احتاجوا إلى سيارة خارقة لتحدّي الطبيعة الصحراوية القاسية. فوقع الاختيار على مرسيدس بنز G63 AMG 6x6 التي جاب بها هاموند وميرك الإمارة واكتشفوا مواقع طبيعية منقطعة النظير والتقطوا أروع الصور.

اشتهرت هذه السيارة على يد المستكشف البريطاني السير ويلفريد ثيسيجر الذي عبر صحراء الربع الخالي مرتين مع رفاقه الإماراتيين والعُمانيين في أربعينيات القرن الماضي.

الأفلام

“@1.5xتحظى السيارات بشعبية كبيرة في المنطقة، ولحسن الحظ أنّ الإمارات العربية المتحدة تتّسم ببنية تحتية مثالية لها. لنلق نظرة مثلاً على حلبة مرسى ياس التي تُعدّ إحدى المناطق السياحية الرئيسية التي تجذب المنتجين، وإذا كنت ترغب في القيادة على الكثبان الرملية، فتعتبر الظقرة المكان المثالي لخوض هذه المغامرة”.

- نورة-الكعبي،

الرئيسة التنفيذية لشركة توفور54 ووزيرة الثقافة وتنمية المعرفة الحالية في دولة الإمارات

يعتبر يادي ياس نهراً اصطناعياً هادئاً يشمل أنابيب متعرّجة ودائرية في ياس ووتر وورلد أبوظبي التي تعدّ أكبر حديقة مائية في الإمارة. لن تتوقع طبعاً تصوير فقرة من أشهر برنامج السيارات في العالم داخل هذاالنهر، ولكن هاموند اختار هذا المكان بالضبط ليعرض القدرات المائية للمرسيدس ذات العجلات الستّ، وقاد مقدم برنامج توب غير هذه السيارة في وجهة يصل عمق الماء فيها إلى مترٍ واحدٍ قبل أن يخرج سليماً، فأذهل جميع الحضور بالعرض

ولتتويج مغامرته في أبوظبي، تم تسليم هاموند مفاتيح سيارة بورش 918 سبايدر هايبريد الخارقة ومنحه حق الدخول إلى حلبة مرسى ياس التي تستضيف سباق جائزة الاتحاد للطيران الكبرى للفورمولا 1™ السنوي.

كما سلّطت جولة "توب غير" الضوء على مجموعة مميزة ورائعة ومتنوعة من التحف المعروضة في متحف الإمارات الوطني للسيارات الذي يضم مجموعة من السيارات الشخصية التي امتلكها صاحب السمو الشيخ حمد بن حمدان آل نهيان، ونفق الشيخ زايد الذي تبلغ مسافته 4.2 كلم وكورنيش أبوظبي المواجه للبحر وفندق قصر الإمارات الشهير.