star wars the force awakens

See All

In a galaxy far, far away floats the isolated planet of Jakku. However, you don’t need to leave Earth’s atmosphere and go to the western reaches of the Star Wars galaxy to find the dramatic rolling dunes and endless ethereal plains of this far-flung rock. You just need to visit Abu Dhabi.

Some of the scenes in Star Wars: The Force Awakens were shot in the emirate’s westernmost region of Al Dhafra, in the world’s largest uninterrupted sand mass, the Rub’ al Khali, also known as the Empty Quarter. Al Wathba Fossil Dunes’ eerie and ethereal landscape also played a role in the film.

Films

“@1.5x“Filming in Abu Dhabi was an incredible thing. Star Wars is a Western and a fairy tale, and shooting in Abu Dhabi was just that!”

- J.J. Abrams,

Director

Director J.J. Abrams and the cast flew to Abu Dhabi in early May 2014 as production on the seventh episode of the nine-part Skywalker saga kicked off. Hundreds of local and international cast and crew worked on the movie in Abu Dhabi, with key production staff working closely with twofour54, part of Abu Dhabi’s Media Zone Authority. 

A combination of diverse desert landscapes and extensive, state-of-the-art production infrastructure provided the perfect formula for the movie, ensuring the shoot ran smoothly and on schedule. The global movie phenomenon premiered in December 2015 and quickly became the fastest film to gross more than US$1 billion.

One thing’s for sure, the Force is strong in Abu Dhabi…

كرم الضيافة العربية

إظهار الكل

وفي هذا الصدد، يقول المخرج جيه جيه إبرامز: كان التصوير في أبوظبي تجربة منقطعة النظير. ففيلم حرب النجوم هو فيلم غربي ورواية خرافية من نسج الخيال، وكذلك الأمر بالنسبة للتصوير بين ربوع أبوظبي."

في مجرّة بعيدة جداً، يسبح كوكب جاكو المنعزل. ولكن لا تحتاج إلى مغادرة هذه الأرض لتجد الكثبان الرملية المتماوجة والوديان الصحراوية اللامتناهية لهذا الكوكب البعيد في الأبعاد الغربية لمجرّة حرب النجوم، إذ يمكنك أن تجدها بالقرب منك، في مدينة أبوظبي!

تمّ تصوير بعض مشاهد حرب النجوم: القوة تنهض في منطقة الظفرة من الإمارة، وتحديداً في صحراء الربع الخالي التي تعدّ أكبر كتلة رملية ممتدة بلا انقطاع في العالم وفي كثبان الوثبة الأحفورية أيضاً التي ظهرت برمالها الأثرية الرائعة خلال الفيلم.

سافر المخرج جيه جيه أبرامز برفقة الممثلين إلى أبوظبي في بداية شهر مايو 2014 لبدء تصوير الحلقة السابعة من فيلم "سكاي ووكر" الذي يتألف من تسعة أجزاء وعمل المئات من الممثلين والعاملين المحليين والعالميين على الفيلم في أبوظبي عن كثب مع موظفي الإنتاج الرئيسيين في شركة توفور 54 للخدمات السينمائية والتلفزيونية.

تمّ الجمع بين المناظر الطبيعية المتنوعة في الصحراء ووسائل الإنتاج الحديثة للإنتاج لتشكل التركيبة المثالية للفيلم، مما يضمن المحافظة على سلاسة التصوير ودقة المواعيد. وقد أقيم العرض الأول لهذه الظاهرة الفيلمية العالمية في ديسمبر 2015 وسرعان ما أصبح الفيلم الأسرع في تحقيق إيرادات تجاوزت المليار دولار.

الأفلام

“@1.5x